I want to be a Barnabus

You’ve heard the saying:  “You can’t take it with you when you go.”  You have that the way you come into the world is the way you go out.  Many sayings have sprung up over time regarding the circumstances of death.  We assume that we really do not take anything with us.  This fact is, supposedly, an acceptance of our “smallness” in the universe and allows us to put things in perspective.  But, is it true?

In life, when moving from one phase to another, we usually do bring a few things with us.  One would be our knowledge, experience, and/or character.   The other may be somewhat delayed, but it would be those who follow in our footsteps.  From my understanding of the Bible, I see no difference when it comes to death.  Jesus, too, is so interested in your character and your converts.

“The true missionary spirit is the spirit of Christ.” – T5 385

I want to be a Barnabus.  We know so much about Peter, James, John, and Paul.  There are many details and patterns to follow regarding those well-known characters in the Bible.  I believe I would settle for favoring a less known character.  To be honest, my life does not resemble the lives of these men…yet, but I pray for transformation.  Again, I want to be a Barnabus.  Why?

“For he [Barnabus] was a good man, and full of the Holy Ghost and of faith:  and much people was added unto the Lord.” – Acts 11:24

That’s why!  He had character (good man, full of the Spirit), and he had converts (many add unto the Lord).  These two things are not separate goals, however, and they cannot be attained individually.  Character creates opportunities to witness and create converts.  Creating converts gives us opportunities to build our character.  Of course, this is all led and directed by God.

If we truly want to be like Christ, then it is imperative that we seek the lost.  God has made use of donkeys, chickens, and almost a few rocks to spread His Gospel.  He Himself even came.  But, you and I, in cooperation with God, are the best equipped at spreading the everlasting Gospel.

Isn’t it time that we spend our time on the two things that we can actually take with us when we go?  I do not want to show up to the marriage supper of the Lamb (Rev. 19:9) empty-handed.

I want to be a Barnabus.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment